< All reports

CMCC go to top of the league after high-scoring win over Lanna Thais

CMCC v Lanna Thais at David Buck Oval Sunday, 18 December 2016
CMCC go to top of the league after high-scoring win over Lanna Thais

CMCC have been playing impressive cricket all season with wins in friendlies and had already won their first league match against Lanna so it was no surprise that they were in fine form again against Lanna Thais. Abaid had arrived at the ground with his ankle heavily strapped but this just meant he wasn't going to run any quick singles. Instead he hit seven sixes in his innings of 53 to overcome the early loss of Ismail who surprising missed his first ball and was bowled.

Tanvir also batted well to reach 63 but Chaiwut proved a more effective bowler than he had a wicket-keeper as he took two wickets in an over twice and at one stage Lanna Thais may even have been able to bowl out CMCC as Eddie returned to bowl at the tail but a total of 253 for 9 was still an impressive one.

Lanna Thais struggled for runs against the new ball but from a position of 31 for 2, Jon Scales and Muanna launched a spirited fightback as both reached fifties after sharing a third wicket partnership of 97. Yot also hit 20 as Lanna Thais made a respectable total of 176 for 4 from their 30 overs. Muanna's innings was a remarkable achievement as he later explained it was his first ever game of hard ball cricket having played with a tape ball in his youth in India and having recently been a regular attender at Gymkhana Club nets.

CMCC wom by 77 runs to go to the top of the league table with two wins in two matches and the match was played in great spirit and the players of both teams gathered at the bench given in memory of David Buck who died earlier in the year and it is hoped that cricket will be played at the David Buck Oval for many years to come.

CMCC 253 for 9 (30 overs)
Abaid 53, Yanvir 63, Basharat 38; Eddie Joyner 2 for 45, Chaiwut 4 for 43

Lanna Thais 176 for 4 (30 overs)
Jon Scales 54, Muanna 54*; Tanvir 2 for 33

CMCC won by 77 runs